Section Home
Publications - February 13, 2013
Meeting No. 66
Wednesday, February 13, 2013

The Standing Committee on National Defence met at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Chris Alexander, James Bezan, Tarik Brahmi, Corneliu Chisu, Cheryl Gallant, Jack Harris, Hon. John McKay, Christine Moore, Rick Norlock, Ted Opitz and Mark Strahl.


Acting Members present: Mylène Freeman for Jean-François Larose and Hon. Rob Moore for Rick Norlock.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Melissa Radford, Analyst; Erin Shaw, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of National Defence: LCol André Dufour, Director, Law Military Personnel, Office of the Judge Advocate General; Col Michael R. Gibson, Deputy Judge Advocate General of Military Justice, Office of the Judge Advocate General; LCol Stephen Strickey, Director of Law, Military Justice Strategic, Office of the Judge Advocate General. Criminal Lawyers' Association: Eric Granger, Lawyer; Anne London-Weinstein, Lawyer. As an individual: Peter Tinsley, Former Chair, Military Police Complaints Commission.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, December 12, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-15, An Act to amend the National Defence Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Peter Tinsley, Eric Granger and Anne London-Weinstein made statements and answered questions.


At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Col Michael R. Gibson made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee

2013/03/11 11:50 a.m.