Section Home
Publications - March 16, 2010
Meeting No. 2
Tuesday, March 16, 2010

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met in camera at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Gary Ralph Schellenberger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Charlie Angus, Rod Bruinooge, Dean Del Mastro, Royal Galipeau, Nina Grewal, Carole Lavallée, Roger Pomerleau, Gary Ralph Schellenberger, Scott Simms and Tim Uppal.


Acting Members present: Hon. Gerry Byrne for Ruby Dhalla, Sukh Dhaliwal for Pablo Rodriguez and Justin Trudeau for Ruby Dhalla.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing; Marion Ménard.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 12:10 p.m., the Committee resumed sitting in public.


Carole Lavallée moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee report the following to the House as soon as possible:

That the Committee recommends that the government amend Part VIII of the Copyright Act so that the definition of “audio recording medium” extends to devices with internal memory, so that the levy on copying music will apply to digital music recorders as well, thereby entitling music creators to some compensation for the copies made of their work.


The question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: Charlie Angus, Carole Lavallée, Roger Pomerleau, Scott Simms, Justin Trudeau — 5; NAYS: Rod Bruinooge, Dean Del Mastro, Royal Galipeau, Nina Grewal, Tim Uppal — 5.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the affirmative.

Accordingly, the motion was agreed to.


At 12:13 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:13 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


At 12:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2010/11/18 7:43 a.m.