Skip to Content
PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

Seizing the Opportunity: The Role of Communities in a Constantly Changing Immigration System

Photo of forks with food Photo of two kids holding Canadial flags

Scroll down

Arrow pointing down

The Report

Preface

In April 2013, members of the Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages undertook a study of the impacts of recent changes to the immigration system on official language minority communities. Our committee dedicated 15 meetings to the study of this issue. A total of 44 witnesses presented their perspectives.

Demographic and sociological changes make immigration a key factor for the future and for the vitality of these communities, which have made it a focus of activity for their long-term development. While issues related to immigrant recruitment, reception and integration have already attracted the attention of various officials, our members were interested in focusing more specifically on the most recent reforms. The main goal of the study was to determine the impacts of these reforms on anglophone and francophone minority communities.

We focused mainly on the changes that have occurred since the start of the 41st Parliament and those that will be implemented by the end of 2014. These changes were in the form of legislative or regulatory amendments, orders in council, reallocation of expenditures and ministerial instructions. In some cases, the changes had a direct impact on the language component of existing immigration policies. In other cases, broader transformations may have affected official language minority communities or may affect them in the future. Our report focuses on the initiatives most likely to have an impact on these communities.

The key idea that came out of the public hearings can be summarized as follows: communities must seize the opportunities that arise in a constantly changing immigration system. For its part, the federal government must fully implement Part VII of the Official Languages Act and section 3 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. It is with this in mind that we have presented a series of recommendations to urge the government to take positive measures to enhance the vitality of official language minority communities and to support and assist their development. We hope that the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, who in fact has been quite supportive of our work, will be open to our recommendations.

The Committee members would also like to thank the former Deputy Chair, the Honourable Andrée Champagne, for her active involvement in this study and in previous studies.

Claudette Tardif
Chair

Suzanne Fortin-Duplessis
Deputy Chair

Photo of the Parliament of Canada

Executive Summary

In recent years, the federal government has taken a range of measures to make the immigration system more effective and efficient. The study by the Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages (the “Senate Committee”) focused on the economic, linguistic and financial changes that have occurred since the start of the 41st Parliament and on those that will be implemented by the end of 2014, with the anticipated launch of the Express Entry system. The purpose of the study was to measure the impact of these changes on official language minority communities. The Senate Committee dedicated 15 meetings to studying the issue and heard from 44 witnesses. Four key themes came out of the public hearings.

First, economic immigration and the major role of employers. The federal government is keenly interested in the economic integration of immigrants. There are many challenges involved in recognizing foreign credentials and integrating immigrants into the job market. The public hearings highlighted the importance of working with immigrants before they arrive. The more they are aware of Canada’s economic and linguistic realities prior to their departure, the greater their chances of success once they arrive. With the launch of the Express Entry system, employers will be urged to play a key role in recruiting newcomers. Employer awareness and a coordinated approach with all immigration system stakeholders will be needed to ensure that the federal government achieves its objectives.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada must develop a coordinated national strategy to support the growth of official language minority communities through immigration. It must also ensure that French-speaking immigrants will be able to register in the pool of qualified candidates in the new Express Entry system without hindering the recognition of their foreign qualifications. It is essential that the department work together with all of its partners and in consultation with the communities, taking into account each region’s characteristics and taking positive measures to support immigration in these communities. As part of the consultations to be held this fall with francophone and Acadian communities, it is recommended that the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration pay special attention to recruitment measures targeting francophone countries.

Second, the communities’ move from a reactive to a proactive role. For several years now, francophone and Acadian communities have been hard at work developing services for French-speaking immigrants. They have created francophone immigration networks, taken part in international recruitment campaigns and organized liaison tours within Canada. They are now more certain than ever of the potential that immigration represents for their vitality. In light of the recent changes to the immigration system, they need to mount a charm offensive to persuade newcomers to settle in minority communities. The communities want to (and must) engage in a “grand seduction” of this kind. The only way they will achieve the desired results is to have the necessary resources at their disposal. As for anglophone communities, they depend on research to build their capacity to ensure that English-speaking newcomers are economically, socially and culturally integrated into Quebec.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada must maintain an approach designed by and for the communities when it comes to current and future changes. As part of the consultations to be held this fall with francophone and Acadian communities, it is recommended that the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration pay special attention to four types of positive measures: providing ongoing and enhanced support for francophone immigration networks; providing support for French-language pre-departure services; promoting the communities abroad; and considering the special needs of refugees, temporary workers and international students. Citizenship and Immigration Canada must also provide anglophone and francophone communities with solid data to enable them to capitalize on the changes. It must also consider the priorities identified by Quebec’s anglophone communities to carry out research on immigration that is aligned with their needs.

Third, official language learning. The federal government took measures to tighten the selection criteria concerning immigrants’ language skills. Several recent studies have found that proficiency in official languages, especially English, is a key determinant in the integration of immigrants and that it clearly strengthens their active engagement in Canadian social life. The public hearings highlighted how important it is for newcomers in minority communities to be proficient in the majority language. However, access to language training is not guaranteed everywhere, nor is it available to all classes of economic immigrants. Most of the witnesses acknowledged that French-language postsecondary institutions must play a pivotal role in the new immigration system.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada must support postsecondary institutions in the Canadian francophonie through targeted positive measures. It must also expand access to language training programs in all regions and open these programs to temporary foreign workers and international students.

Fourth, federal government targets. In 2003, the federal government agreed on targets for increasing the number of francophone immigrants settling in minority communities. A target of 4.4% by 2008 was initially set and subsequently lowered, allowing the government until 2013 to achieve a proportion of 1.8% for French-speaking immigrants settling outside Quebec, and until 2023 to achieve the initial target of 4.4%. In 2013, in the wake of changes to foster economic immigration, the government set a new target of 4% for French-speaking economic immigrants by 2018. The Senate Committee’s public hearings sought to find out what action the federal government intends to take in order to achieve these targets.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada must recognize that the Provincial Nominee Program and the Canada Experience Class must attract a sufficient number of francophone immigrants. It must also include a francophone lens in the Express Entry system so that francophone and Acadian communities can capitalize on targeted positive measures and participate in developing the tools to promote immigration to their communities.

The nine recommendations presented by the Senate Committee to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration are intended to ensure the implementation of Part VII of the Official Languages Act and section 3 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Photo of hands holding Canadian flags

Recommendations

Recommendation 1

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada, in cooperation with all of its partners and in consultation with official language minority communities, quickly develop a coordinated national strategy to support the development of these communities through immigration. This strategy must identify the roles and responsibilities of the various partners and be flexible enough to take into account the unique characteristics of each region.

Recommendation 2

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada, in cooperation with all of its partners and in consultation with francophone and Acadian communities, ensure that francophone immigrants will be able to register in the pool of qualified candidates in the Express Entry system without hindering the recognition of their foreign credentials.

Recommendation 3

That the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration take advantage of the consultations to be held this fall with francophone and Acadian communities to identify, in cooperation with them, positive measures to support immigration to their communities. That the Minister pay special attention to the following positive measure:

(a) recruitment initiatives targeting francophone countries.

Recommendation 4

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada must, in consultation with francophone and Acadian communities, maintain an approach designed by and for the communities when it comes to current and future changes. That, as part of the consultations to be held this fall with francophone and Acadian communities, the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration pay special attention to the following positive measures:

(a) providing ongoing and enhanced support for francophone immigration networks;
(b) providing support for French-language pre-departure services;
(c) promoting official language minority communities abroad; and
(d) considering the special needs of refugees, temporary workers and international students who settle in francophone minority communities.

Recommendation 5

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada fund a Statistics Canada survey on French-speaking immigrants outside Quebec and on English-speaking immigrants in Quebec so that official language minority communities can be better equipped to deal with the immigration challenges they will be facing over the coming years.

Recommendation 6

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada take into consideration the priorities identified by Quebec’s anglophone communities in order to conduct immigration research projects that will provide a concrete and direct benefit to these communities and will build their capacity to economically, socially and culturally integrate English-speaking newcomers.

Recommendation 7

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada provide targeted support to postsecondary institutions in the Canadian francophonie for language training, language testing, foreign credential recognition and skills upgrading.

Recommendation 8

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada allow temporary foreign workers and international students to register for its language training programs and that it expand access to these programs in either official language in all regions of Canada.

Recommendation 9

That Citizenship and Immigration Canada recognize the following:

(a) the Provincial Nominee Program and the Canadian Experience Class must attract a sufficient number of francophone immigrants;
(b) the Express Entry system must include a francophone lens so that francophone and Acadian communities can capitalize on targeted positive measures; and
(c) these communities must participate in developing the tools to promote immigration to their communities.

Contact information

General Information:
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362

Email: OLLO@sen.parl.gc.ca

Mailing Address:
Senate Committee on Official Languages
The Senate of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4

Passer au contenu
PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

Saisir l’occasion : Le rôle des communautés dans un système d’immigration en constante évolution

Photo de deux enfants tenant des drapeaux canadiens

faire dÉfiler vers le bas

Flèche pointant vers le bas

Le rapport

Préface

En avril 2013, les membres du Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles ont entrepris une étude de l'impact des changements récents au système d'immigration sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Notre comité a consacré 15 réunions pour l'examen de cette question. Au total, ce sont 44 témoins qui ont exposé leur point de vue devant nous.

En raison des changements démographiques et sociologiques, l'immigration est un facteur déterminant pour l'avenir et l'épanouissement de ces communautés, qui en ont fait un axe d'intervention prioritaire pour assurer leur développement à long terme. Bien que les enjeux liés au recrutement, à l'accueil et à l'intégration des immigrants aient déjà attiré l'attention de représentants de divers horizons, nos membres souhaitaient examiner de façon plus précise les réformes les plus récentes. Le principal but recherché par l'étude était d'en déterminer les impacts sur les communautés francophones et anglophones en situation minoritaire.

Nous avons essentiellement consacré notre attention sur les changements survenus depuis le début de la 41e législature et ceux qui seront mis en œuvre d'ici la fin de l’année 2014. Ces changements ont pris la forme de modifications législatives ou réglementaires, de décrets approuvés par le gouverneur en conseil, de réaffectation des dépenses ou d'instructions ministérielles. Dans certains cas, il s'agissait de modifications touchant directement l'aspect linguistique des politiques d'immigration en place. Dans d’autres cas, il s'agissait de transformations plus générales qui ont pu ou pourraient avoir un impact sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Notre rapport se concentre sur les initiatives qui sont le plus susceptibles d'affecter ces communautés.

L’idée maîtresse qui ressort des audiences publiques se résume à celle-ci : les communautés doivent saisir les occasions qui se présentent à elles dans un système d'immigration en constante évolution. Le gouvernement fédéral, lui, doit faire en sorte d'assurer la pleine mise en œuvre de la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles et de l'article 3 de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés. C'est dans cette optique que nous présentons une série de recommandations pour l'inciter à prendre des mesures positives favorisant l'épanouissement et appuyant le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Nous espérons que le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration, qui s'est d'ailleurs montré très positif à l'égard de nos travaux, fera preuve d'ouverture et de considération à l'égard de celles-ci.

Les membres de notre comité tiennent également à remercier l'ancienne vice-présidente, l'honorable Andrée Champagne, pour sa participation active aux travaux dans le cadre de cette étude et de celles qui l'ont précédée.

Claudette Tardif
Présidente

Suzanne Fortin-Duplessis
Vice-présidente

Photo du Parlement du Canada

Sommaire

Ces dernières années, le gouvernement fédéral s’est activé à prendre diverses mesures pour rendre le système d’immigration plus efficace et plus efficient. L’étude du Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles (le « Comité sénatorial ») s’est concentrée sur les changements de nature économique, linguistique et financière survenus depuis le début de la 41e législature et ceux qui seront mis en œuvre d’ici la fin de l’année, avec le lancement prévu du système « Entrée Express ». Le but de l’étude était de mesurer l’impact des changements sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Le Comité sénatorial a consacré 15 réunions pour l’examen de cette question. Il a rencontré 44 témoins. Quatre constats principaux sont ressortis de ses audiences publiques.

Premièrement, l’immigration économique et le rôle prépondérant donné aux employeurs. L’intégration économique des immigrants attire beaucoup l’attention du gouvernement fédéral. Les défis entourant la reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers ou l’intégration au marché de l’emploi sont nombreux. Les audiences publiques ont rappelé l’importance d’agir auprès des immigrants avant leur arrivée au pays. Plus ceux-ci seront au courant des réalités économiques et linguistiques du Canada avant leur départ, plus leurs chances de réussite en sol canadien seront élevées. Avec l’entrée en vigueur du système « Entrée Express », les employeurs seront appelés à jouer un rôle déterminant dans le recrutement des nouveaux arrivants. Un travail de sensibilisation à leur égard et une approche coordonnée entre tous les acteurs du système d’immigration seront nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs que le gouvernement fédéral s’est fixés.

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada doit établir une stratégie nationale concertée pour stimuler la croissance des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire par l’immigration. Il doit également s’assurer que les immigrants de langue française pourront s’inscrire dans le bassin de candidats qualifiés du nouveau système « Entrée Express » sans qu’il n’y ait d’entrave à la reconnaissance de leurs titres de compétences étrangers. Il apparaît essentiel que le Ministère agisse en collaboration avec l’ensemble de ses partenaires et en consultation avec les communautés, en tenant compte des particularités propres à chaque région et en prenant des mesures positives favorisant l’immigration dans leur milieu. Dans le cadre des consultations qui auront lieu cet automne auprès des communautés francophones et acadiennes, il est recommandé que le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration porte une attention particulière à des mesures de recrutement ciblées envers les pays francophones.

Deuxièmement, le passage pour les communautés d’un rôle réactif à un rôle proactif. Depuis quelques années déjà, les communautés francophones et acadiennes ont mis la main à la pâte pour développer des services destinés aux immigrants d’expression française. Elles ont développé des réseaux en immigration francophone, participé à des missions de recrutement à l’international et organisé des tournées de liaison en sol canadien. Plus que jamais, elles sont convaincues du potentiel que représente l’immigration pour assurer leur vitalité. Dans le cadre des changements apportés récemment au système d’immigration, elles doivent mener une opération de charme pour convaincre les nouveaux arrivants de s’installer en milieu minoritaire. Il s’agit d’une véritable entreprise de grande séduction dans laquelle les communautés veulent et doivent prendre leur place. Elles ne pourront atteindre les résultats voulus que si elles disposent des ressources nécessaires pour les réaliser. Les communautés anglophones, de leur côté, comptent sur la recherche pour renforcer leurs capacités en matière d’intégration économique, sociale et culturelle des nouveaux arrivants de langue anglaise au Québec.

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada doit assurer le maintien d’une approche par et pour les communautés dans le cadre des changements en place et à venir. Dans le cadre des consultations qui auront lieu cet automne auprès des communautés francophones et acadiennes, il est recommandé que le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration porte une attention particulière à quatre types de mesures positives : le soutien continu et renforcé aux réseaux en immigration francophone, l’appui aux services prédépart en français, la promotion des communautés à l’étranger et la prise en compte des besoins particuliers des réfugiés, des travailleurs temporaires et des étudiants étrangers. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada doit également mettre à la disposition des communautés francophones et anglophones des données convaincantes pour leur permettre de tirer profit des changements apportés. Il doit aussi prendre en considération les priorités identifiées par les communautés anglophones du Québec pour la réalisation de projets de recherche en immigration qui s’alignent avec leurs besoins.

Troisièmement, l’apprentissage des langues officielles. Le gouvernement fédéral a adopté des mesures pour renforcer les critères de sélection à l’égard des compétences linguistiques des immigrants. Plusieurs études récentes ont conclu que la maîtrise des langues officielles, en particulier l’anglais, est un facteur déterminant de réussite dans l’intégration des immigrants. Leur participation active à la vie sociale canadienne s’en retrouve nettement améliorée. Les audiences publiques ont montré l’importance pour les nouveaux arrivants qui s’installent en milieu minoritaire de bien maîtriser la langue de la majorité. L’accès à la formation linguistique n’est cependant pas garanti partout, ni pour toutes les catégories d’immigrants économiques. La plupart des témoins ont reconnu que les établissements postsecondaires francophones doivent agir comme plaque tournante dans le nouveau système d’immigration.

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada doit appuyer les établissements postsecondaires de la francophonie canadienne par l’entremise de mesures positives ciblées. Il doit aussi élargir l’accès aux programmes de formation linguistique dans l’ensemble des régions et permettre l’inscription des travailleurs étrangers temporaires et des étudiants internationaux à ces programmes.

Quatrièmement, les cibles identifiées par le gouvernement fédéral. Dès 2003, le gouvernement fédéral a convenu d’établir des cibles en vue d'augmenter le nombre d'immigrants francophones qui s'installent dans des communautés en situation minoritaire. Une première cible de 4,4 % d’ici 2008 a été fixée, puis revue à la baisse, en donnant au gouvernement jusqu’en 2013 pour atteindre une proportion de 1,8 % d’immigrants d’expression française à l’extérieur du Québec, et jusqu’en 2023 pour atteindre la cible initiale de 4,4 %. En 2013, dans la foulée des changements apportés en faveur de l’immigration économique, le gouvernement a établi une nouvelle cible de 4 % d’immigrants économiques d’expression française d’ici 2018. Les audiences publiques du Comité sénatorial ont cherché à savoir comment le gouvernement fédéral s’y prendra pour atteindre les résultats voulus.

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada doit reconnaître que le Programme des candidats des provinces et la Catégorie de l’expérience canadienne doivent attirer un nombre suffisant d’immigrants francophones. Il doit aussi reconnaître que le système « Entrée Express » doit inclure une lentille francophone permettant aux communautés francophones et acadiennes de tirer profit de mesures positives ciblées et de participer à l’élaboration d’outils qui favorisent l’immigration dans leur milieu.

Les neuf recommandations présentées par le Comité sénatorial à l’intention du ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration visent à assurer la mise en œuvre de la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles et de l’article 3 de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Photo de mains tenant des drapeaux du Canada

Recommandations

Recommandation 1

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, en collaboration avec l’ensemble de ses partenaires et en consultation avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, établisse rapidement une stratégie nationale concertée pour stimuler la croissance de ces communautés par l’immigration. Cette stratégie doit préciser les rôles et responsabilités des différents partenaires et être suffisamment souple pour tenir compte des particularités propres à chaque région.

Recommandation 2

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, en collaboration avec l’ensemble de ses partenaires et en consultation avec les communautés francophones et acadiennes, s’assure que les immigrants francophones pourront s’inscrire dans le bassin de candidats qualifiés du système « Entrée Express » sans qu’il n’y ait d’entrave à la reconnaissance de leurs titres de compétences étrangers.

Recommandation 3

Que le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration profite des consultations prévues cet automne avec les communautés francophones et acadiennes pour déterminer, en collaboration avec elles, des mesures positives favorisant l’immigration dans leur milieu. Que le ministre porte une attention particulière à la mesure positive suivante :

a) des mesures de recrutement ciblées envers les pays francophones.

Recommandation 4

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, en consultation avec les communautés francophones et acadiennes, assure le maintien d’une approche par et pour les communautés dans le cadre des changements en place et à venir. Que dans le cadre des consultations prévues cet automne avec les communautés francophones et acadiennes, le ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration porte une attention particulière aux mesures positives suivantes :

a) le soutien continu et renforcé aux réseaux en immigration francophone.
b) l'appui aux services prédépart en français.
c) la promotion des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire à l’étranger.
d) la prise en compte des besoins particuliers des réfugiés, des travailleurs temporaires et des étudiants internationaux qui s’installent en milieu minoritaire francophone.

Recommandation 5

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada finance la réalisation d’une enquête par Statistique Canada sur les immigrants de langue française à l’extérieur du Québec et sur les immigrants de langue anglaise au Québec, afin de mieux outiller les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire face aux défis qui les attendent au cours des prochaines années en matière d’immigration.

Recommandation 6

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada prenne en considération les priorités identifiées par les communautés anglophones du Québec pour la réalisation de projets de recherche en immigration qui auront une portée réelle et concrète sur ces communautés et renforceront leurs capacités à l’égard de l’intégration économique, sociale et culturelle des nouveaux arrivants de langue anglaise.

Recommandation 7

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada appuie de manière ciblée les établissements postsecondaires de la francophonie canadienne pour l’offre de la formation linguistique, l’évaluation des compétences linguistiques, la reconnaissance des titres de compétences étrangers et la formation d’appoint.

Recommandation 8

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada permette l’inscription des travailleurs étrangers temporaires et des étudiants internationaux à ses programmes de formation linguistique et qu’il élargisse l’accès à ces programmes dans l’une et/ou l’autre des deux langues officielles dans l’ensemble des régions du pays.

Recommandation 9

Que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada reconnaisse que :

a) le Programme des candidats des provinces et la Catégorie de l’expérience canadienne doivent attirer un nombre suffisant d’immigrants francophones.
b) le système « Entrée Express » doit inclure une lentille francophone, afin de permettre aux communautés francophones et acadiennes de tirer profit de mesures positives ciblées.
c) ces communautés doivent participer à l’élaboration d’outils qui favorisent l’immigration dans leur milieu.

Coordonnées du comité

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
613-990-0088 or 1-800-267-7362

Courriel : OLLO@sen.parl.gc.ca

Adresse postale :
Comité sénatorial des langues officielles
Le Sénat du Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0A4