PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

The Future of Canadian Air Travel: Toll Booth or Spark Plug?

Ottawa, June 5, 2012 – Canada needs a single, cohesive national air travel strategy, including an updated National Airports System, to chart a new course toward increased air travel in Canada. This is one of the main recommendations made by the Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications in its report tabled today on the future growth and global competitiveness of Canada’s airports, entitled The Future of Canadian Air Travel: Toll Booth or Spark Plug?

After hearing from dozens of witnesses over the past two years in connection with its study on emerging issues related to the Canadian airline industry, the committee has determined that “the Government of Canada should stop treating airports as a source of public revenue, such as toll booths, and start treating them as economic spark plugs,” said Senator Dennis Dawson, chair of the committee. “It should stop charging airports ground rent and plan to transfer Canada’s main airports to the authorities that already operate them.”

The committee concluded that the federal government should use its influence to bring partners to the table to establish new policies and systems that will address inefficiencies and continually improve the air travel experience for passengers in Canada.

Senator Stephen Greene, deputy chair of the committee, said that “the changes we are recommending would position the Canadian air travel industry for growth, put it on course to compete successfully in a future of increasing global air travel and enable the industry to deal with fierce competition from U.S. airports located near the Canadian border that are doing whatever they can to attract Canadian clients.”

The report offers six recommendations on how to improve air travel in Canada.

To learn more about the work of the committee and for a copy of the report, please visit http://senate-senat.ca/trcm-e.asp.

The Senate of Canada is on Twitter: @SenateCA. To follow the committee’s activities, use the #TRCM hashtag.

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

L’avenir des déplacements aériens au canada :
poste de péage ou bougie d’allumage?

Ottawa, le 5 juin 2012 – le Canada a besoin d’une stratégie nationale distincte et cohérente sur le transport aérien, y compris d’une révision du Réseau des aéroports nationaux, afin de définir une nouvelle façon de stimuler les déplacements aériens au pays. Telle est l’une des principales recommandations du Comité sénatorial permanent des transports et des communications, qui a déposé aujourd’hui son rapport sur la croissance future et la compétitivité des aéroports du Canada intitulé L’avenir des déplacements aériens au Canada : poste de péage ou bougie d’allumage?

Après avoir entendu des dizaines de témoins au cours des deux dernières années dans le cadre de son étude sur les nouveaux enjeux du secteur canadien du transport aérien, le comité a déterminé que « le gouvernement doit cesser de traiter le transport aérien comme une source de recettes publiques et leur permettre de pleinement jouer leur rôle de bougie d'allumage », a déclaré le sénateur Dennis Dawson, président du comité. « Il doit cesser d’exiger des loyers fonciers aux aéroports canadiens et céder la propriété des principaux aéroports aux administrations qui en assurent déjà l’exploitation ».

Le comité a conclu que le gouvernement fédéral devrait user de son influence pour convier les partenaires à une discussion visant l’établissement de nouvelles politiques et de nouveaux systèmes pour remédier aux inefficiences et améliorer continuellement l’expérience aérienne des passagers au Canada.

Le sénateur Stephen Greene, vice-président du comité, a déclaré : « Les changements que nous recommandons devraient permettre de placer le secteur canadien du transport aérien sur la voie de la croissance et de la compétitivité en cette ère de mondialisation, notamment pour faire face à la concurrence féroce des aéroports américains situés près des frontières canadiennes et qui font tout pour attirer la clientèle canadienne ».

Le rapport propose six recommandations pour améliorer les déplacements aériens au Canada.

Pour en savoir plus sur les travaux du comité et obtenir une copie du rapport, visitez le site http://senate-senat.ca/trcm-f.asp.

Le Sénat du Canada est sur Twitter à l’adresse @SenatCA. Pour suivre les activités du comité, il suffit d’utiliser le mot-clé diésé #TRCM.