PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment
 
 

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE Wednesday, May 28, 2003

The Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages

has the honour to table its

THIRD REPORT


On February 5, 2003, the Senate asked your Committee to study the report entitled Environmental Scan:  Access to Justice in Both Official Languages (revised on July 25, 2002), which had been commissioned by Justice Canada.  Your Committee was specifically mandated to study this report with a view to clarifying access to language rights and their exercise under the Divorce Act, the Bankruptcy Act, the Criminal Code, the Contraventions Act and other related acts where applicable.  Your Committee was to report on its proceedings under this Order of Reference by than May 31, 2003.

 

BACKGROUND 

Justice Canada commissioned the report entitled Environmental Scan:  Access to Justice in Both Official Languages to track recent developments in language law.  A revised version of the report was presented on July 26, 2002.  It identifies the needs specific to each province and territory with respect to access to justice in both official languages in three areas under federal jurisdiction:  criminal law, bankruptcy law, and divorce and support law. 

The authors of the Environmental Scan found general dissatisfaction with legal services in French in these three areas in the nine provinces and three territories where French is the minority language.  In Quebec, it appears that access to court and legal services in the minority language (English) in these three areas under federal jurisdiction is reasonably satisfactory. 

The Environmental Scan proposes a variety of approaches to resolving the specific problems in each province and territory, because each is at a different stage regarding access to justice in both official languages.  These approaches most notably involve compliance with the language obligations in the Criminal Code, a stronger coordinating role for Justice Canada, and the recruitment and training of bilingual legal practitioners. 

 

FOLLOW-UP TO THE ENVIRONMENTAL SCAN 

In June 2002, the former Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages published a report entitled The Justice System and Official Language Communities, in which it recommended that the federal government:

In November 2002, the government of Canada responded officially to the report of the Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages.  It said that the responsible Deputy Ministers of Justice had authorised in the summer of 2002 the creation of a federal/provincial-territorial working group (“FPT group”), participation in which would be on a voluntary basis.  The FPT group, co-chaired by Justice Canada, was to determine the mechanisms that should be put in place to rectify the shortcomings identified in the Environmental Scan, while seeking to adapt the solutions to the unique circumstances prevailing in each province and territory. 

Initially, the FPT group was made up of representatives from Justice Canada, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick and Yukon.  Representatives of Nunavut and Saskatchewan, and government officials responsible for francophone affairs in these various jurisdictions have since joined the FPT group.  Prince Edward Island has specifically asked to be kept abreast of the FPT group’s progress, without wishing for official membership at this time.  Four other governments are still not represented on the FPT group:  Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Quebec and the Northwest Territories. 

The Justice Canada officials[2] who testified before your Committee on April 7, 2003, noted that the FPT group has met twice since its creation.  Its mandate, which is for an indeterminate period, has been defined.  In the short term, the FPT group’s activities will focus on bringing governments and the communities closer together through partnerships, and on consolidating what has been achieved to date.  These activities will be facilitated by the introduction of a consultation mechanism designed to bring legal personnel and parties to proceedings closer together while formulating solutions tailored to the situation in each region.  One of the FPT group’s priorities will be to support the full implementation of the language obligations contained in the Criminal Code

Your Committee notes that the federal Action Plan for Official Languages, released on March 12, 2003, provides for $45.5 million over five years for access to justice in both official languages.  Of this amount, $18.5 million will enable Justice Canada to invest in targeted measures designed to improve access to the justice system in both official languages: “funding for various projects to be carried out with the assistance of government and non-government partners; stable funding for French-speaking lawyers’ associations and their national federation; the creation of a mechanism for consultation with minority official language communities; and the development of tools for training the Department of Justice legal counsels on language rights.” [3]  Justice Canada is also preparing to fund language and legal terminology training for Crown attorneys, provincially appointed judges and court personnel, on an ad hoc, decentralised basis, adapted to each region. 

Your Committee is delighted by the work that the FPT group has begun on access to justice in both official languages to follow up on the findings of the Environmental Scan.  Your Committee also applauds the funding recently announced in the Action Plan for Official Languages and the projects that Justice Canada intends to launch with this new funding.  Your Committee notes, however, that these are only the first steps in the work that needs to be done and that the coming years will be decisive.  In particular your Committee is concerned about specific aspects of access to justice in both official languages.

First of all, your Committee believes that it is essential for bilingual judges and court personnel to be available throughout Canada, to ensure access to justice in the language of minority.  The government must work in collaboration with lawyers’ associations to find ways of encouraging bilingual law graduates to return to their home regions to practise law.

Further, your Committee considers that bilingualism should be one of the selection criteria in assessing candidates for new appointments to the bench.  Because the lack of bilingual judges is a serious problem in a number of regions of this country, the eligibility lists drawn up by the various provincial committees should indicate which candidates meet the bilingualism criterion.  This would give the Minister of Justice access to an eligibility list of functionally bilingual lawyers by province and territory, to which he could refer when undertaking the appointment of new judges.  The Minister should definitely have the means to make better use of the pool of bilingual candidates.

Your Committee is delighted by Justice Canada’s promise to fund language and legal terminology training, to be provided on an ad hoc, decentralised basis, adapted to each region.  Language and legal terminology training should also be made available to all judges and to all agents who represent the Minister before a court.

Your Committee finds it disturbing that only between 40 and 60 per cent of judges inform parties to proceedings, when they are not represented by a lawyer, of their right to be heard in the official language of their choice.  To ensure the application of the provisions in section 530 of the Criminal Code, which guarantee accused persons the right to be tried in the official language of their choice, it is important to take steps to ensure a truly proactive offer of legal and judicial services in the language of the minority.  It is important to bear in mind that in Beaulac, the Supreme Court ruled that language rights must be given a broad and generous interpretation by the courts.  Justice Canada must see to it that judges are made more aware of these provisions in the Criminal Code, so that they consistently inform parties that they have the right to be heard in the official language of their choice.  It would also be desirable that section 530 serve as a model for extending language rights to bankruptcy, divorce and support cases.

Two pilot projects have been set up in recent years in Manitoba and Saskatchewan, to improve access to judicial and legal services in both official languages.  The single-window model (Manitoba), and the launch of a travelling provincial court staffed by bilingual personnel (Saskatchewan) have both led to notable improvements in the quality and equality of services offered in the two official languages.  It is vital that the government make a commitment to support these two pilot projects over the long term, and that it investigate the possibility of introducing similar models in other provinces and territories.

Lastly, your Committee believes it is essential that all legal documentation, such as charges, be accessible in both official languages in those regions of the country where this is not already the case.

 

RECOMMENDATIONS 

Therefore, your Committee makes the seven following recommendations:  

  1. That the federal government encourage representatives of the governments of Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia and Quebec to join the federal/provincial-territorial working group co-chaired by Justice Canada, because the problem of access to justice in both official languages also affects these jurisdictions.

  2. That the federal/provincial-territorial working group develop incentives designed to encourage bilingual law graduates to return to their home regions to practise law.

  3. That a candidate’s bilingualism be one of the selection criteria in evaluating nominations for appointments to the bench, and that an eligibility list of functionally bilingual lawyers in each province and territory be available for reference purposes.

  4. That the government offer language and legal terminology training to all judges and all agents of Justice Canada.

  5. That judges be always required to inform parties to proceedings that they have the right to be heard in the language of their choice, and that section 530 of the Criminal Code be used as a model in extending language rights to bankruptcy, divorce and support cases.

  6. That the government make a long-term commitment to support the single-window and travelling bilingual provincial court pilot projects in Manitoba and Saskatchewan, and that it investigate the possibility of similar models in other provinces and territories.

  7. That all legal documentation be available in both official languages in all regions of the country.

Respectfully submitted,

ROSE-MARIE LOSIER-COOL
Chair


[1]   Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages, The Justice System and Official Language Communities, Ottawa, Parliament of Canada, June 2002, p. 6.

[2]  Andrée Duchesne, National Coordinator, POLAJ; Suzanne Poirier, General Counsel and Coordinator, Francophonie, Justice in Official Languages and Bijuralism; and Marc Tremblay, General Counsel and Director, Official Languages Law Group.

[3]   Government of Canada, The Next Act:  New Momentum for Canada’s Linguistic Duality.  The Action Plan for Official Languages, Ottawa, National Library of Canada, 2003, p. 45.


PDF FORMAT

The Committee report is available in PDF format (Portable Document Format). These type of electronic documents retain the original look and feel -- complete with text, graphics, photos and colour -- of their printed versions, and can be disseminated independently of computer platform or distribution media.

Acrobat Readers are freely available and enable Windows, Macintosh, DOS and UNIX users to view, navigate through and print any PDF document.

If you need more information on how to use this format or require a reader for your platform, you may wish to visit Adobe Systems Incorporated.


Top of document

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois
 
 

RAPPORT DU COMITÉ

Mercredi le 28 mai 2003

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles

a l’honneur de déposer son

TROISIÈME RAPPORT


Le 5 février 2003, le Sénat demandait à votre comité d’étudier le rapport intitulé État des lieux sur la situation de l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles, révisé le 25 juillet 2002 et commandé par Justice Canada.  Votre comité s’est notamment vu chargé d’étudier ce rapport en vue de clarifier l’accès aux droits linguistiques, et leur exercice, en vertu de la Loi sur le divorce, la Loi sur la faillite, le Code criminel, la Loi sur les contraventions et d’autres lois en conséquence s’il y a lieu.  Votre comité devait faire rapport de ses travaux quant à cet ordre de renvoi au plus tard le 31 mai 2003.

 

CONTEXTE

Le rapport intitulé État des lieux sur la situation de l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles a été commandé par Justice Canada pour rendre compte de l’évolution récente du droit en matière linguistique. Une copie révisée du rapport a été déposée le 26 juillet 2002. Ce rapport identifie les besoins spécifiques à chaque province et territoire en matière d’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles dans trois domaines du droit qui sont de compétence fédérale : le droit criminel, le droit de la faillite et le droit du divorce et de la pension alimentaire.

Les auteurs de l’État des lieux ont constaté un manque général de satisfaction à l’endroit des services juridiques en français dans ces trois domaines du droit dans les neuf provinces et les trois territoires où le français est la langue minoritaire. Au Québec, il semble que l’accès aux services judiciaires et juridiques dans la langue minoritaire (l’anglais) pour ces trois domaines de compétence fédérale est plutôt satisfaisant. 

Chaque province et territoire ne se situant pas au même stade en matière d’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles, l’État des lieux propose diverses solutions pour résoudre les problèmes spécifiques à chacune des composantes de la fédération. Ces solutions visent notamment le respect des obligations linguistiques contenues dans le Code criminel, le renforcement du rôle de coordination de Justice Canada, ainsi que le recrutement et la formation de juristes bilingues.

 

SUIVI DE L’ÉTAT DES LIEUX 

L’ancien comité mixte permanent des langues officielles a publié en juin 2002 un rapport intitulé La justice et les communautés de langues officielles dans lequel il recommandait au gouvernement fédéral :

En novembre 2002, le gouvernement du Canada a répondu officiellement au rapport du comité mixte permanent des langues officielles en spécifiant que les sous-ministres responsables de la justice avaient autorisé à l’été 2002 la création d’un groupe de travail fédéral/provincial-territorial (« groupe FPT ») au sein duquel la participation se ferait sur une base volontaire.  Ce groupe FPT, co-présidé par Justice Canada, devait déterminer les mécanismes à mettre en place pour remédier aux lacunes identifiées dans l’État des lieux, tout en cherchant à adapter les solutions aux situations particulières des provinces et des territoires.

Lors de sa création, le groupe FPT regroupait des représentants de Justice Canada, de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, du Manitoba, de l’Ontario, du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Yukon.  Des représentants du Nunavut, de la Saskatchewan et des responsables gouvernementaux des affaires francophones de différentes juridictions se sont depuis joints au groupe FPT. L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a spécifiquement demandé à être tenue au courant des progrès du groupe FPT, sans toutefois vouloir pour le moment y nommer un représentant.  Quatre autres gouvernements ne sont toujours pas représentés au sein du groupe FPT : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Québec et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Tel que l’ont indiqué les représentants de Justice Canada[2] qui sont venus témoigner devant votre comité le 7 avril 2003, le groupe FPT s’est réuni à deux reprises depuis sa création.  Le mandat du groupe FPT, d’une durée illimitée, a été défini. À court terme, l’action du groupe FPT portera sur le rapprochement des gouvernements et des communautés par l’entremise de partenariats, et sur la consolidation des acquis. Cette action sera facilitée par la création d’un mécanisme de consultation qui visera à rapprocher les juristes et les justiciables tout en élaborant des solutions propres à la situation de chacune des régions.  L’une des grandes priorités du groupe FPT sera d’appuyer une mise en œuvre complète des obligations linguistiques du Code criminel.

Votre comité note que le plan d’action fédéral pour les langues officielles rendu public le 12 mars 2003 prévoit un financement de 45,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles. De ce montant, 18,5 millions de dollars permettront à Justice Canada d’investir dans des mesures ciblées visant à améliorer l’accès au système de justice dans les deux langues officielles, soient : « le financement de projets réalisés avec le concours de partenaires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux; un financement stable pour les associations de juristes d’expression française et leur fédération nationale; la création d’un mécanisme de consultation avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire; et finalement, le développement d’outils de formation sur les droits linguistiques pour les conseillers juridiques du ministère de la Justice. » [3]  Justice Canada prévoit également financer la formation linguistique et en terminologie juridique des procureurs de la Couronne, des juges de nomination provinciale et du personnel judiciaire, selon une approche ponctuelle et décentralisée adaptée aux régions.

Votre comité se réjouit du travail amorcé par le groupe FPT sur l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles pour donner suite aux constats de l’État des lieux.  Votre comité applaudit également le financement récemment annoncé dans le plan d’action fédéral pour les langues officielles, ainsi que les projets que Justice Canada entend lancer grâce à ces nouveaux fonds.  Votre comité remarque cependant que ce ne sont là que les débuts du travail à accomplir et que les prochaines années seront déterminantes.  Votre comité a notamment certaines préoccupations face à des aspects précis de l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles.

Votre comité croit tout d’abord qu’il est primordial que des juges et du personnel bilingues soient disponibles partout au Canada pour assurer l’accès à la justice dans la langue de la minorité. Il faut travailler en collaboration avec les associations de juristes pour trouver des moyens d’encourager les diplômés des facultés de droit qui sont bilingues à retourner dans leur région d’origine pour pratiquer leur profession.

Ensuite, votre comité estime que le bilinguisme devrait constituer un critère de sélection parmi d’autres lors du processus d’évaluation des candidatures pour la nomination de nouveaux juges. Le manque de juges bilingues constituant une lacune importante dans plusieurs régions du pays, la liste de candidats admissibles aux postes de juge préparée par les différents comités provinciaux devrait indiquer quels sont les candidats qui répondent au critère du bilinguisme. Ceci permettrait au ministre de la Justice d’avoir accès à une liste d’admissibilité des avocats fonctionnellement bilingues par province et territoire à laquelle il pourrait se référer lorsqu’il procède à la nomination de nouveaux juges. Il est en effet souhaitable que le ministre se donne les moyens de tirer de plus en plus profit du bassin de candidats à la magistrature qui sont bilingues.

Votre comité se réjouit de l’engagement de Justice Canada à financer la formation linguistique et en terminologie juridique, qui devra se faire selon une approche ponctuelle et décentralisée adaptée aux régions. Une formation linguistique et en terminologie juridique devrait également être offerte à l’ensemble des juges et aux mandataires destinés à représenter le ministre auprès d’un tribunal.

Votre comité trouve inquiétant qu’entre 40 p. 100 et 60 p. 100 seulement des juges avisent les justiciables, lorsqu’ils ne sont pas représentés par un avocat, de leur droit d’être entendu dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Pour assurer la mise en application des dispositions prévues à l’article 530 du Code criminel, qui garantit à l’accusé le droit d’être entendu dans la langue officielle de son choix, il est important de prendre des moyens nécessaires pour assurer une véritable offre active de services judiciaires et juridiques dans la langue de la minorité. Il est important de rappeler que dans l’arrêt Beaulac, la Cour suprême a statué que les droits linguistiques doivent recevoir des tribunaux une interprétation large et généreuse. Justice Canada doit faire en sorte que les juges soient davantage sensibilisés aux dispositions du Code criminel pour qu’ils puissent, en tout temps, informer les justiciables qu’ils ont le droit d’être entendus dans la langue de leur choix. Il serait également souhaitable que le modèle de l’article 530 du Code criminel puisse servir d’exemple pour étendre les droits linguistiques au droit de la faillite, du divorce et de la pension alimentaire.

Par ailleurs, deux projets-pilotes ont été mis sur pied au cours des dernières années au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan afin d’améliorer l’accès aux services judiciaires et juridiques dans les deux langues officielles. Le modèle de guichet unique (Manitoba) et l’instauration d’une cour provinciale itinérante dotée d’un personnel bilingue (Saskatchewan) ont tous deux apporté des améliorations notables en matière d’égalité et de qualité des services offerts dans les deux langues officielles. Il est primordial que le gouvernement s’engage à appuyer à long terme ces deux projets-pilotes et qu’il étudie la possibilité d’implanter des modèles semblables dans d’autres provinces ou territoires.

Finalement, votre comité croit essentiel que toute la documentation juridique, tels les actes d’accusation, soit accessible dans les deux langues officielles dans les régions du pays où elle ne l’est pas encore.

 

RECOMMANDATIONS 

Votre comité émet par conséquent les sept recommandations suivantes: 

  1. Que le gouvernement fédéral encourage les représentants des gouvernements de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Québec à se joindre au groupe de travail fédéral/provincial-territorial co-présidé par Justice Canada, car le problème de l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles touche également ces juridictions. 

  2. Que le groupe de travail fédéral/provincial-territorial développe des incitatifs visant à favoriser le retour des diplômés des facultés de droit qui sont bilingues dans leurs régions d’origine pour qu’ils puissent y pratiquer leur profession.

  3. Que le bilinguisme du candidat constitue un critère de sélection parmi d’autres lors du processus d’évaluation pour la nomination de nouveaux juges et qu’une liste d’admissibilité des avocats fonctionnellement bilingues par province et territoire soit disponible pour des fins de référence.

  4. Que le gouvernement offre une formation linguistique et en terminologie juridique à l’ensemble des juges et aux mandataires de Justice Canada. 

  5. Que les juges soient tenus en tout temps d’informer les justiciables qu’ils ont le droit d’être entendus dans la langue de leur choix, et que le modèle de l’article 530 du Code criminel serve d’exemple pour étendre les droits linguistiques au droit de la faillite, du divorce et de la pension alimentaire.

  6. Que le gouvernement s’engage à appuyer  à long terme les projets-pilotes de guichet unique et de cour provinciale itinérante bilingue au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan, et qu’il étudie la possibilité d’implanter des modèles semblables dans d’autres provinces ou territoires.

  7. Que toute la documentation juridique soit disponible dans les deux langues officielles dans toutes les régions du pays.

Respectueusement soumis,

La présidente,
ROSE-MARIE LOSIER-COOL


[1] Comité mixte permanent des langues officielles, La justice et les communautés de langues officielles, Ottawa, Parlement du Canada, juin 2002, p. 6.

[2] Andrée Duchesne, coordonnatrice nationale du PAJLO; Suzanne Poirier, avocate générale et coordonnatrice au sein du secteur Francophonie, Justice en langues officielles et Bijuridisme; et Marc Tremblay, avocat général et directeur du groupe du Droit des langues officielles.

[3] Gouvernement du Canada, Le prochain acte : Un nouvel élan pour la dualité linguistique canadienne. Le plan d’action pour les langues officielles, Ottawa, Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 2003, p. 47.


FORMAT PDF

Le Rapport du comité est disponible en format  PDF (Portable Document Format). Les documents électroniques conservent ainsi leur présentation d'origine -- texte, graphiques, photos et couleurs -- et ils peuvent être visualisés sur divers systèmes (DOS, UNIX, WINDOWS, MAC, etc. ).

Les utilisateurs de Windows, Macintosh, DOS et UNIX ont accès sans frais au lecteur Acrobat pour visualiser, parcourir et imprimer les documents de type PDF.

Si vous avez besoin d'un lecteur, vous pouvez accéder à Adobe Systems Incorporated. 


Haut de la page