PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

Research Publications


The Library of Parliament offers a wide range of research publications that provide analysis to parliamentarians, parliamentary committees and parliamentary associations on current and emerging key issues, legislation and major public policy topics. The publications provide non-partisan, reliable and timely information on subjects that are relevant to parliamentary and constituency work.

Current Publications

Under Current Publications you will find Background Papers which provide in-depth studies of policy issues, including historical background, current information and references. Many of these papers anticipate the emergence of the policy issues. You will also find In Briefs which are short briefings on current issues that may refer the reader to more substantive sources published on the same topic.

Legislative Summaries

Legislative Summaries outline government bills, and private members’ bills that have been referred to committee for study, concerning major new initiatives or significant changes to existing legislation. They are generally not prepared for money bills (appropriation bills and borrowing-authority bills or measures relating to ways and means motions as part of the budgetary process) or emergency bills. Legislative Summaries explain the purpose and history of bills, analyze their key clauses, and, where available, include media reaction and comments from interest groups. They are updated as needed to reflect amendments made during the legislative process.

HillNotes

HillNotes.ca provide concise overviews of current and emerging issues of immediate interest to parliamentarians.

Trade and Investment Series

The Trade and Investment Activity publication series provides information on Canada’s trade and investment relationship with selected countries. Particular attention is paid to bilateral merchandise trade, trade in services and foreign investment.

Occasional and Commissioned Papers

Occasional Papers and Commissioned Papers are produced at the request of or with the assistance of the Library of Parliament, as part of its mandate to serve Parliament. Containing information, analysis or research on topics of interest to parliamentarians, they are prepared from time to time by Library staff, by other organizations or individuals, or in collaboration with the Library.

Stay Connected

Recently Published




© Library of Parliament 2012

[ Top of Page ]

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

Publications de recherche


La Bibliothèque du Parlement a un large éventail de publications de recherche qui fournissent aux parlementaires, aux comités parlementaires ainsi qu’aux associations parlementaires des analyses des enjeux courants et émergents, des projets de loi et des grands dossiers de politique publique. Ces publications offrent en temps utile de l’information fiable et non partisane sur des questions qui présentent un intérêt pour le travail effectué au Parlement et dans les circonscriptions.

Publications courantes

Sous la rubrique Publications courantes vous trouverez les études générales qui constituent des analyses approfondies de questions stratégiques, y compris le contexte historique, des informations courantes et des références. Souvent, ces études abordent des questions avant même qu’elles deviennent actuelles. Vous y trouverez aussi  les En bref qui sont des survols de sujets d’actualité, pouvant  renvoyer le lecteur à des documents plus approfondis sur le même sujet.

Résumés législatifs

Les résumés législatifs donnent les grandes lignes des projets de loi du gouvernement, ainsi que des projets de loi émanant de parlementaires qui sont envoyés à un comité parlementaire pour examen, qui introduisent des mesures importantes ou qui modifient substantiellement des lois en vigueur. Généralement, aucun résumé législatif n’est rédigé pour les projets de loi de finances (c.-à-d. relatifs aux crédits, au pouvoir d'emprunt ou aux motions de voies et moyens dans le cadre du processus budgétaire) ou pour les projets de loi urgents. Le résumé législatif explique l’objet et l’historique du projet de loi étudié par le Parlement, en analyse les principales dispositions et, s’il y a lieu, rapporte les commentaires des médias et des groupes d’intérêts. Il est mis à jour au besoin pour tenir compte des amendements apportés au projet de loi au cours du processus législatif.

Notes de la Colline

Notes de la Colline.ca donnent un aperçu d’enjeux courants et émergents d’intérêt qui intéressent les parlementaires.

Série sur le commerce et l’investissement

La série de publications sur les activités de commerce et d’investissement est une source de renseignements sur les rapports que le Canada entretient à ce chapitre avec divers pays, notamment en ce qui concerne les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises, de services et d’investissements à l’étranger.

Documents hors série et commandés

Les documents hors série et commandés sont produits à la demande de la Bibliothèque du Parlement ou avec son aide, dans le cadre de son mandat consistant à être au service du Parlement. Ils contiennent des informations, des analyses ou des exposés de recherches sur des questions qui intéressent les parlementaires et sont rédigés de temps à autre par des employés de la Bibliothèque, par d’autres organisations ou personnes, ou en collaboration avec la Bibliothèque.

Restez branché

Publications récentes



© Bibliothèque du Parlement 2012

[ Haut de la page ]