PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

The Clerk of the House of Commons

Office of the Clerk

Visitors to the House of Commons and those watching its proceedings on television have surely noticed the officials in black robes sitting at the Table in front of the Speaker’s Chair. These are the Clerks-at-the-Table, non-partisan officials who provide advice to the Speaker and to Members and who record the decisions of the House. At the head of the Table sits the Clerk of the House, the senior permanent official of the House of Commons.

This Web site will provide insight into the role of the Clerk, the manner in which the Clerk is appointed, the long history of the office, as well the administrative structure of the House of Commons. Mr. Marc Bosc, Deputy Clerk, is currently Acting Clerk of the House of Commons.

Roles and Responsibilities

Members are supported in their parliamentary functions by services administered by the Clerk of the House who, as the chief executive of the House administration, reports to the Speaker. The Clerk advises the Speaker and all Members on the interpretation of parliamentary rules, precedents and practices. The Clerk is at the service of all Members, regardless of party affiliation, and must act with impartiality and discretion.

The Clerk is responsible for maintaining records of the proceedings of the House and for keeping custody of these records and other documents in the possession of the House. All decisions of the House are authenticated by signature of the Clerk.

At the beginning of a Parliament, the Clerk administers the oath of allegiance to all duly elected Members as required by the Constitution Act, 1867.

The Clerk acts as Secretary to the Board of Internal Economy, the governing body that has responsibility over all financial and administrative matters respecting the House of Commons. The Clerk also administers an oath to Members joining the Board of Internal Economy.

In addition, the Clerk frequently receives delegations of parliamentary officials from other legislatures and participates in interparliamentary activities.

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

GREFFIER DE LA CHAMBRE DES COMMUNES

Bureau du greffier

Les visiteurs de la Chambre des communes et les gens qui suivent les débats à la télévision ont certainement remarqué les fonctionnaires en toges noires assis au Bureau, devant le fauteuil du président. Ce sont les greffiers au Bureau, des fonctionnaires non partisans qui conseillent le président et les députés et qui enregistrent les décisions de la Chambre. Le greffier de la Chambre, qui en est aussi le principal haut fonctionnaire permanent, prend place au bout du Bureau.

Vous trouverez sur ce site Web des renseignements sur le rôle du greffier, le processus de nomination, la longue histoire de ce poste, ainsi que sur la structure administrative de la Chambre des communes. M. Marc Bosc, Sous-greffier, est présentement le Greffier par interim de la Chambre des communes.

Rôles et responsabilités

Les députés, dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions parlementaires, sont appuyés par des services administrés par le greffier de la Chambre, qui, à titre de premier dirigeant de l’Administration de la Chambre, relève du président. Le greffier donne des conseils au président et aux députés sur l’interprétation des règles, des usages et de la jurisprudence parlementaires. Il est au service de tous les députés, quelle que soit leur appartenance politique, et doit agir avec impartialité et discrétion.

Le greffier est responsable des comptes rendus des délibérations de la Chambre ainsi que de la garde des documents et des archives de cette dernière. Toutes les décisions de la Chambre sont authentifiées par la signature du greffier.

Au début d’une législature, le greffier fait prêter le serment d’allégeance à tous les députés officiellement élus comme l’exige la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867.

Le greffier sert de secrétaire au Bureau de régie interne, l’organisme responsable de toutes les questions financières et administratives concernant la Chambre des communes, et il fait également prêter serment aux nouveaux membres du Bureau de régie interne.

En outre, le greffier accueille souvent des délégations de fonctionnaires parlementaires d’autres assemblées législatives, et participe à diverses activités interparlementaires.