Skip to Content Skip to Navigation
PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment
Photography of vaulted archways

In this section:

Update

December 1, 2016 — The Honourable Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board of Internal Economy, has tabled the minutes for the October 27, 2016 Board meeting.

December 1, 2016 — The House of Commons financial statements for 2015-2016 are now available.

November 3, 2016 — The Report to Canadians 2016 is now available for consultation.

November 3, 2016 — The Honourable Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board of Internal Economy, has tabled the minutes for the September 29 and October 17, 2016 Board meetings.

October 6, 2016 — The Honourable Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board of Internal Economy, has tabled the minutes for the June 16, 2016 Board meeting.

September 21, 2016 – The Members’ Expenditure Report for the first quarter of 2016-2017 and the Public Registry of Designated Travellers as at June 30, 2016 are now available.

May 5, 2016 — The Honourable Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board of Internal Economy, has tabled the minutes for the February 18 and March 10, 2016 Board meetings.

April 22 2016 - Following approval by the Board of Internal Economy, the Strategic Plan 2016-2019 was tabled and is now available for consultation.

Board of Internal Economy

Introduction

The Board of Internal Economy (the Board) is committed to increasing public understanding about its role and the expenditures of the House of Commons and its Members. To help meet this objective, this section provides detailed information about the Board of Internal Economy. The Board is also working hard to make expenditure and financial reports clearer and easier to access.

About the Board of Internal Economy

Role of the Board of Internal Economy

The Board of Internal Economy is the governing body of the House of Commons.

In this capacity, the Board makes decisions and provides direction on financial and administrative matters of the House of Commons, specifically concerning its premises, its services, its staff and Members of the House of Commons.

The Board is responsible for establishing By-laws, policies and guidelines relating to expenditures and resources provided to Members in order to carry out their parliamentary functions. The Board also has the exclusive authority to determine whether expenditures are proper and in accordance with the By-laws, policies and guidelines that have been established. This authority is given to the Board by the Parliament of Canada Act.

Membership of the Board

The Board consists of the Speaker, who acts as Chair, two members of the Privy Council (appointed to the Board by the Government), the Leader of the Opposition or his or her representative, and additional Members appointed in numbers so that the total results in an overall equality of government and opposition representatives (apart from the Speaker). The Clerk of the House of Commons, who reports to the Speaker, serves as Secretary to the Board of Internal Economy.

Decisions of the Board of Internal Economy are made on a non-partisan basis. All recognized parties (i.e. those holding at least 12 seats in the House) are given representation on the Board.

The Board of Internal Economy designates two spokespersons from its membership: a member of the Government and a member of the Official Opposition. They respond to questions related to Board business during Question Period and to enquiries from the media.

View the current membership of the Board of Internal Economy.

More Information

For more information about the Board:

Sauter au contenu Sauter à la navigation
PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois
Photographie d'arcades voûtés

Dans la présente section :

Mise à jour

Le 1 décembre 2016 — L’honorable Geoff Regan, Président de la Chambre des communes et président du Bureau de régie interne, a déposé les procès-verbaux de la réunion du Bureau du 27 octobre 2016.

Le 1 décembre 2016 — Les états financiers de la Chambre des communes pour 2015-2016 sont maintenant disponibles.

Le 3 novembre 2016 — Rapport aux Canadiens 2016 est maintenant disponible aux fins de consultation.

Le 3 novembre, 2016 – L’honorable Geoff Regan, Président de la Chambre des communes et président du Bureau de régie interne, a déposé les procès-verbaux des réunions du Bureau du 29 septembre et du 17 octobre 2016.

Le 6 octobre, 2016 – L’honorable Geoff Regan, Président de la Chambre des communes et président du Bureau de régie interne, a déposé le procès-verbal de la réunion du Bureau du 16 juin 2016.

Le 21 septembre, 2016 – Le Rapport de dépenses des députés pour le premier trimestre de 2016-2017 et le Registre public des voyageurs désignés au 30 juin, 2016 sont maintenant disponibles.

Le 5 mai, 2016 – L’honorable Geoff Regan, Président de la Chambre des communes et président du Bureau de régie interne, a déposé, le 10 mars 2016, les procès-verbaux des réunions du Bureau du 18 février et du 10 mars 2016.

Le 22 avril 2016 - Le Plan stratégique 2016-2019 a été déposé après avoir été approuvé par le Bureau de régie interne. Il peut maintenant être consulté. 

Le Bureau de régie interne

Introduction

Le Bureau de régie interne (le Bureau) tient à mieux faire comprendre au public son rôle et les dépenses de la Chambre des communes et des députés. Dans cette optique, la présente section propose des renseignements détaillés sur le Bureau de régie interne. Le Bureau s'efforce de rendre les rapports sur les dépenses et les rapports financiers plus clairs et faciles à consulter.

Au sujet du Bureau de régie interne

Rôle du Bureau de régie interne

Le Bureau de régie interne est l'organe directeur de la Chambre des communes.

À ce titre, le Bureau prend des décisions et définit des orientations en matière financière et administrative à la Chambre des communes, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne les locaux, les services, le personnel et les députés.

Le Bureau est responsable d'établir les règlements administratifs, les politiques et les lignes directrices concernant les dépenses et les ressources fournies aux députés pour qu'ils s'acquittent de leurs fonctions parlementaires. Il a le pouvoir exclusif de décider si des dépenses sont appropriées et conformes aux règlements administratifs, politiques et lignes directrices établis. Ce pouvoir lui est conféré par la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada.

Composition du Bureau

Le Bureau est formé du Président de la Chambre, qui en assume la présidence, de deux membres du Conseil privé (nommés par le gouvernement), du chef de l'opposition ou de son représentant, et d'autres députés nommés de façon à ce qu'il y ait autant de représentants du gouvernement que des partis d'opposition (sans compter le Président). La greffière de la Chambre des communes, qui relève du Président, remplit les fonctions de secrétaire du Bureau de régie interne.

Les décisions du Bureau de régie interne se prennent en toute impartialité. Tous les partis reconnus (c'est-à-dire ceux qui occupent au moins 12 sièges à la Chambre) sont représentés au Bureau.

Le Bureau de régie interne désigne deux porte-parole parmi ses membres : un député du Gouvernement et un député de l'Opposition officielle. Ces porte-parole répondent aux questions posées au cours de la période des questions lorsqu'elles concernent le Bureau et ils répondent également aux questions des médias.

Voir la composition actuelle du Bureau de régie interne.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour plus de renseignements sur le Bureau :